Home » Enneagram » Figure

The Enneagram Figure

Enneagram Figure

The figure of the Enneagram consists of 3 parts: the circle, the inner triangle, and the hexad.

Enneagram Circle

The Circle and Law of One

The circle encompasses everything contained within the figure and signifies the Law of One, which states that everything is One and there is no separation.  We are all one and we are one with all.  There are no divisions.

Enneagram Law of Three Diagram

The Inner Triangle and Law of Three

The inner triangle connects points 3, 6, and 9.  This figure represents the Law of Three, which designates the Three Forces.  There are three forces that are required for any change to occur:

Active Force (Point 3):  The active force provides the energy for action and expression.
Receptive Force (Point 6):  The receptive force takes in, processes, and digests all the stimuli received by your senses.
Reconciling Force (Point 9):  The reconciling force is the force of consciousness or awareness that synergizes the active and receptive forces into balance. This balance is required to create change.

Enneagram Hexad Diagram

The Hexad and Law of Seven

The hexad is made of the lines that connect points 1, 4, 2, 8, 5, and 7.  The hexad denotes the Law of Seven, which describes the seven steps that occur in any process.  

When the three shapes are combined, they form the Enneagram.

Enneagram Icon

Learn About Your Type:

NEW TO THE ENNEAGRAM? Start your exploration with our free, online Enneagram Test »

READY FOR MORE? Deepen your Enneagram understanding through the School of Conscious Living »

Learn More about the Nine Enneagram Types

The Enneagram shows nine ways of seeing and experiencing the world as well as the relationships between personality and psychological development.  It explains underlying motivations, as well as strengths and weaknesses in navigating life and relating to others.